Keep an open heart, even if your heart is damaged – By Trevor Martin

Image

“I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.  Review the past for me, let us argue the matter together; state the case for your innocence.” – Isaiah 43:25-26

Try to not let the pain cause you to become recluse and introverted. I too have seen the ills of life, just got out of a place where I was robbed of all material things I owned, and the last of my money. People always do what they think is right in the moment. What happened to me was crazy in my eyes, but if I can see that my ex thought, in some strange reality, that it was ok to jack all my shit, I can forgive her for it. But beyond people being jackasses there are also loving and caring people out there.

Try not to let a few bad apples spoil the bunch. Life, it seems is about giving your heart to others again and again. You know, ya sure your heart may be smashed again, you may get hurt or stabbed in the back. But isn’t life about the search through heavy waters until we find friends and a lover, or lovers that make us feel like we have hit dry land? Not to sound morbid or emo, but a heart being broke open is a beautiful thing, and if you do not let yourself be consumed by sadness, it can change everything you thought you ever knew.

There is something about emotion, love and pain in general that is beautiful and transforming. Any time our heart is broken open or held tight by the hands of love, we expand, we look at everything we have ever thought, and we flip it upside down. Often times, when people pass  away for instance, we learn to love our friends and family even more. We hold tight to the moments that mean a lot to us, and we remember the times we share.

You see, so I know it is so much easier said than done, but If we can forgive situations and people for the wrongs we have faced, we will see that it really did cause us to be a totally different person. I mean, your life could change where you find more worth in yourself. It could change to the point of you being more picky when choosing others as mates etc.

In general it is an amazing thing to be faced with something and everything around us changes. Seeing the world and people in different perspectives is what I believe to be the most important thing you can do. Compassion lies in the one who sees all perspectives simultaneously.

Allowing life to be there, and accepting others, whether you want to hang with them or not, for all they come with, is key. Everybody is trying their best to survive in this weird maze. But you must forgive the pain that has been inflicted upon you to move forward. Trust yourself, use discernment, keep an eye out, and allow yourself to open up again. And I know its a cliche thing to say but forgive someone, not for them but because it will stop you from having burning rage in your own heart for them. You don’t have to forget, and in my opinion you should not, because that is what allows you to grow and is what allowed you to grow. But see people for who they are, just ants trying to find the queen, what is the queen? Answers to what the hell life is, and I don’t think we can find the answer. In other words, respect the lost, because you are beautifully lost too.

Leave a Reply

